Annual Conference  |   About ITRN  |   Contact Us


ITRN 2010 Prize winners


At the ITRN conference, the following papers were awarded prizes:

Student prizes:

1st prize: Highly dynamic, pervasive monitoring of traffic congestion levels

Derek Fagan, Rene Meier TCD

2nd prize An examination of the feasibility of LRT or BRT in Galway

Shane Dunny, AECOM

Non-student prizes:

1st: Wider economic benefits and appraisal for urban rail schemes in Ireland

Michael Dempsey, RPA

=2nd prize: Unsustainable commuting patterns – the legacy of the housing boom in Ireland.

Brian Caulfield TCD; Simon McDowell, Furman Centre for Real Estate and Urban Policy, NYU

=2nd prize: Job accessibility and the spatial distribution of employement in an urban rural setting: a case study for the west of Ireland

Amaya Vega, NUIG; Hugh Kelly, NUIG; Cathal O’Donoghue, Teagasc.

I would like to offer my congratulations to all involved.

Dr. Aoife Ahern, Chair, ITRN